If you are employed in Connecticut, you most likely are guaranteed workers’ compensation benefits as explained by the State of Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Commission. While not everyone may receive these benefits, most people do. This includes workers who are employed part time and who may not even be United States citizens. Domestic workers may be covered even if they work more than a certain number of hours per week.
Part of protecting the right to claim workers’ compensation is ensuring that you file a claim within the designated time, called the statute of limitations. If you develop an occupational disease, you may file for workers’ compensation benefits up to 36 months after you first notice a symptom of the disease manifestation. If you experience an injury related to performing your job, you may file for workers’ compensation up to 12 months after the date that the injury occurred on.
Your first reporting should be to your employer and then to the workers’ compensation commission via a 30C Form. Depending on the nature of your case, you may qualify for rehabilitation coverage, wage replacement benefits, medial care and more. While the system does not identify fault for an injury or illness, it does not provide coverage related to any drug or alcohol addiction or abuse.
If you would like to learn more about how to get help with a workers’ compensation claim after a work-related accident or the development of a work-related disease, please feel free to visit the workers’ compensation assistance page of our Connecticut personal injury website.